A journey into the eyes and mind of a naturalist.

Adventures in Washington

I spent all of last week living in a tent in the Cascade mountains east of Seattle.  I also spent several days with family in Seattle.  We attempted to go whale watching, but my role as cetacean repellent remained true and we traveled north of Vancouver, BC without seeing anything….except a phenomenal sunset.

In addition to the sunset the views of Mt. Baker were nothing but spectacular.  This active volcano is also home to the world record for snowfall in a single winter!!

Through all my photography I rarely take picture of scenery and anything bigger than a bread basket.  As my wife and friends can attest, I am usually stopping at every flower, bug, feather, or other random thing on the side of the trail to capture the moment.

Cinquefoil flower – the only flower I have seen with a reflective gloss to it!

Here is what I think is a fairly cliche picture but cool none the less….

Tomorrow we will explore the world of Banana Slugs and Bull Frogs!

3 responses

  1. Absolutely amazing. By the way, what’s the size of the Cinquefoil flower?

    July 19, 2010 at 10:48

    • The flowers were about an inch and a half wide. I found out that they are considered a weed, at least they are pretty!

      July 19, 2010 at 11:12

  2. Very cool Jim!

    I love those banana slugs, so unique and so large!

    July 19, 2010 at 14:02

Leave a Reply

