A journey into the eyes and mind of a naturalist.

Banana Slugs and Bull Frogs

One of my goals for my stay in Washington was to find some Banana Slugs and introduce them to my macro lens.  After much searching and a couple of finds without my camera a large slug, literally, crossed my path (I was walking really slow).  Here is what I call portrait of a slug.

The banana slugs seem to be active only in the early morning and perhaps at night.  All the slugs I found during the day were tucked away within their slimy little bodies.  I found this guy just after sunrise.  This next one looks like a creature straight out of the Mos Eisley Cantina!

Another experience I had in Washington was with one of my favorite flavors of animal…FROGS!    I love frogs and I have a life list of frogs to catch.  The largest frog in North America, the Bull Frog, is on that list.   Native to the eastern half of the country these behemoths have been introduced in to the western half by humans.  Bull Frogs are not your cuddly frogs of fairy tales, they alter their ecosystem by eating everything and anything they can get into their mouth.  Unfortunately this usually means most of the native frogs are on the menu.  I even hear a report of a Bull Frog chowing down on a Cedar Waxwing, a good sized bird!

When I was given the challenge to capture a Bull Frog I knew I had to deliver or risk having my pride tarnished.  After slowly stalking the frogs with only my eyes exposed above water I silently placed my had behind the frog and POW!  My first Bull Frog.  Twenty minutes and a few feet away, POW!  My second Bull Frog with the first in the other hand.  I was elated!

As I mentioned before Bull Frogs are invasive and love to eat all the other frogs.  Because of that I could not release my catch back into the pond.  As I mentioned before frogs are one of my favorite flavors of animal.  In fact I would say they taste like chicken with the texture of fish!

I ate all the meat on the frog including the heart, stomach and liver.  I used the remains in a “track trap” a device used to lure in animals to identify their track.  The Bull Frog is an example of how humans have indirectly impacted the environment and I did my part to help return it to the natural balance.

Tomorrow:  Food and Flowers!

3 responses

  1. Looks good for sure. How many did you eat? 🙂

    July 21, 2010 at 09:34

    • I ate two bull frogs and only kissed one slug!

      July 21, 2010 at 10:53

  2. Does Kelly know that you kiss slugs? Gross!

    July 21, 2010 at 22:27

Leave a Reply

