A journey into the eyes and mind of a naturalist.

Neotropical Frogs

Frogs are amazing.  Minnesota only has 14 species of frogs and toads.  Costa Rica is home to hundreds or thousands of different species.  I will be sharing some of the frogs I found while on my trip over the next couple of posts.  Enjoy!

This is a Masked Tree Frog.  It is common throughout Costa Rica.  I found this guy on our window one morning.  All it wanted to do was sleep and pretend in was a leaf.  I took the opportunity to snap a couple of pictures before returning it to it’s hiding spot.

I think I identified it correctly…

This frog was a very willing participant.  Moments after this picture was taken it jumped right on to my camera.  It’s coloration is nearly identical to the Wood Frog found right here in Minnesota, convergent evolution at its finest!

Up next:  The original PDF  (Hint: nothing to do with computers!)

Leave a Reply

