A journey into the eyes and mind of a naturalist.

Frogs.pdf

.pdf – in my mind this has nothing to do with computers.  In my world this stands for Poison Dart Frog.  These frogs are, as their name suggests poisonous.  They get their poison from ants and spiders that they eat.  They take the chemicals from their prey and make it their own.  These poisons are some of the more complex organic molecules out there and they are also some of the most potent neurotoxins as well!   These frogs pack a punch, that didn’t stop me from getting in close!

These Red PDF’s were extremely small.  They were also not shy about the camera.  It was like they knew they were not going to be bothered.  This one was almost aggressive!  The bright colors are the frogs way of saying ‘back off’ of ‘don’t eat me, I’ll kill you’ .  I think I get the picture.

This is a Green and Black PDF (for obvious reasons).  I found this one just behind the bungalow we were staying at.  I tried to get a satisfactory picture several times, but the mosquitoes would eat me alive of the frog would dive into a hole.  After three days of trying and a good soaking of deet I found the frog and he gave in giving me some good shots.

Up next:  Night Hike in the Rain Forest!

3 responses

  1. These are amazing. Will you post the snake ones too?

    August 9, 2010 at 08:49

    • Which snake one? I have quite a few!

      August 9, 2010 at 13:07

  2. the one in the aquarium (?), just its head in negative space.

    August 9, 2010 at 13:31

Leave a Reply

