A journey into the eyes and mind of a naturalist.

Things that go VRRROOOOOMM!

I have lots of hobbies and I think I dabble in quite a variety of different kinds of things.  One thing that I really have been getting elbow (or neck) deep in is classic cars.  I currently have two classic cars, one that runs and one that did run until I tried to fix it!   Here are some photos of my two ‘babies’.

This is my first car, a 1970 Corvette.  I bought it for a steal when I was 19 in the Navy.  I bought the car in Upstate New York and drove it back to Minnesota where it remains to this day.  I drove this car to a car show yesterday.  40 years old and still running strong!

Back when cars had character.  Modern cars all look the same.  This nose is unmistakably a Corvette, chrome bumper and all.

I took the Corvette on several Corvette Cruises.  Pretty much you get a couple of hundred Corvettes together and they drive around in the country.  Great fun!!   Here is the view from the side view mirror, Corvettes as far as the eye can see!

I have this photo hanging in my living room.  It is the view from the rear window of my other car, a 1970 Cadillac Sedan Deville.  This was taken in Nevada and consists of three different pictures.  There is rain on the right and mountains on the left with nothing but open road.  This photo reminds me of all those good times I spent in that car.

The Caddy is 19.5 feet long and has the second largest engine ever put into a passenger car.  The best gas mileage I have ever got was 16 mpg, going down hill with a tail wind in Wyoming.

Sunrise in Yosemite.  I thought the geometry of the the cliffs and the car complimented each other very nicely.

The Caddy has been out of commission for three years.  I rebuilt the engine and replaced it .  Upon replacement and a lot of money it wouldn’t start.  I have not had the cash or the time to dig deeper and she has been waiting for three years.  Someday she will get out on the road again!

Up Next:  Insect Royalty!

2 responses

  1. So cool. Maybe you should bring your baby home in the corvette. He/she will be the coolest baby in town!

    August 18, 2010 at 08:48

    • It already kicks a ton when it is riding in it! I think it’s excited!!

      August 18, 2010 at 15:15

Leave a Reply

