A journey into the eyes and mind of a naturalist.

What’s cooler than cool?

ICE COLD!!!

After taking pictures for the last post I got to thinking,  some of those were not the pictures I wanted.  I had, in my mind, a vision of a drop falling from the icicle frozen perfectly in time.  In the last post I captured a couple of drop mid-flight but they were still blurred with motion.  After all this thinking the final answer actually came to me in a dream…yes I dream about photography.  I woke up and thought “ISO!”  I needed to increase, not only the shutter speed, but also the ISO setting of my camera. So that is exactly what I did, and here is the shot I was looking for.

With the ISO north of 1600 and the shutter speed in the thousandths of a second I actually froze the drop in time.  It was frozen to the point that you can clearly see the trees, clouds, other icicles, shadows, and snow refracted and through the drop.  Needless to say I was pretty happy.  Here are some other drops frozen in time.  Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Winter is usually thought of as harsh and demanding, challenging the very core of survival.  As a reward for these challenges winter also provides some of the most delicate and intricate structures on the planet.  Snowflakes are by definition little flake of ice but anyone who has ever looked at a snowflake up close knows there is something much more magical about them.  Their tiny arms reach away from the center hub in an infinite number of branches.  Each flake catches sunlight creating air filled with glitter.  Snowflakes, like icicles proved an interesting subject to photograph.  This morning I had my first chance.  On my back deck, in my pajamas, I snapped a couple of pictures.  I blew my breath away from the flake as even the slightness of my warm breath was enough to melt them away.  I had to work quickly before the sun robbed them away.

Nature has a way with creating little jewels any time of year, the only way to find these jewels is to be willing to look.  Nature does not accommodate the lazy, it rewards the dedicated.

2 responses

  1. mom

    Jimmy,

    The photos are absolutely amazing. Your descriptions are eloquent.
    You make me happy.
    Momma Llama

    December 28, 2010 at 11:30

  2. Awesome photos, Jim! I love the snowflakes.

    December 29, 2010 at 21:25

Leave a Reply

